University of Hyderabad

The University of Hyderabad (UoH), a premier institution of post-graduate teaching and research in the country, was established by an Act of Parliament on 2nd October 1974 as a Central University. The serene campus of the University, located on a sprawling 2300 acres, provides the right learning ambience. The large campus located near Gachibowli, which is the IT hub of Hyderabad, has immense bio-diversity and is a natural beauty. With 46 different Departments and Centres organized in 12 Schools of study, the University has over 400 faculty and over 5000 students.  The UGC has identified the University as one of the universities with Potential for Excellence (UPE) and provided special funding for all its overall Development. The University is consistently rated among the top 5 universities in the country by various accreditation agencies.


Recognising the importance of innovation and entrepreneurship in Higher Educational Institutes, UoH has recently set up a “Technology, Industrial liaison and Entrepreneurship Unit” (TIE-U) that would act as a knowledge repository, interacts with industry, effects technology transfer, secures IP rights and creates an enabling ecosystem for entrepreneurship. UoH has 3 incubation centres, Technology Business Incubator (TBI), Technology Incubation and Development of Entrepreneurship (TIDE) and BioNEST hosting about 30 startups. These three incubation centres put together cover a broad spectrum of areas for translational work.  A not for profit Section 8 company “Association for Scientific Pursuits for Innovative Research Enterprises” (“UOH-ASPIRE”) to bring all the incubators and incubation activity under one umbrella.